The immigration experience

Handles the census, and migration to, from and within Shireroth; apply for citizenship here

Moderator: Edgard

Ari Rahikkala

The immigration experience

Post by Ari Rahikkala »

So the involvement of many of Shireroth's bureaucracies in Kvothe Morrowind's immigration kind of made me wonder. It's been way too long since I was a newbie to micronationalism. I don't know how it feels to be a new guy just immigrating, and I don't really claim to know what a micronation should do in order to make me feel more interested once I've filled out the immigration form...

... but I have a gut feeling anyway, a feeling that says that when you're immigrating into a micronation, it should feel like you're immigrating into a nation, except without having to fill out paperwork or generally do unfun things. I think I would like to see that there was a process behind it, that my application for immigration set gears spinning around the nation and brought attention to me. I doubt I'd have much of an idea of what the difference between, say, the MiniInfo and MiniInt is in the Shirithian bureaucracy, or just what the MiniTrade precisely does... but if I personally got a message from the MiniInt saying I've been registered as a resident of the duchy I chose for myself, and one from the MiniTrade saying they're giving me money, and maybe one from the MiniInfo pointing out reliable information sources and interesting stuff to read, I think I'd appreciate it a good bit.

And besides those three ministries.. we could have the Kaiser or Steward, whichever is active, issue a formal welcome... maybe invitations to participate if there's stuff going on at the University, or at the Temples or such... and that's just the imperial level. The duchies could add their own stuff on top of it. Think programs to involve new citizens in imperial affairs to fast-track the ones who show interest and capability into the nobility, introductions to duchal cultures, etc..